Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login

Wales’ Top Directors Named at IoD Wales Director of the Year Awards

14 May 2018
IoD Wales

The great and the good of Welsh businesses have been acknowledged at IoD Wales’ Director of the Year Awards 2018.

Ed Reeves and Rachel Clacher of Wrexham-based call answering service Moneypenny, were given the Chairman’s Award while Acorn Group Marketing Director Dan Langford was acknowledged with the Director’s Award for establishing Wales Week in London and Michael Garvey from BBC National Orchestra of Wales was given the Judges’ Special Award, which wasn’t included in the shortlist but was announced at yesterday’s (Friday’s) event.

Inclusivity was also a surprise category, announced on the day and awarded to Julian John from People & Development consultancy Delsion in Swansea and Cardiff.

The awards, now in their seventh year, have become an established highlight on the Welsh business calendar and celebrate business achievements and inspirational leaders across Wales while bringing all sectors of the business community together, irrespective of size, geography and longevity.

Robert Lloyd Griffiths, Director of IoD Wales said: “This is my absolute favourite day of the year. I wish every finalist could win, but those who have been acknowledged with an award are those who have demonstrated the huge contribution they have made to their businesses and organisations.

“This year we have over 300 guests gathered together to celebrate with winners from all parts of Wales and from a wealth of sectors; but who share one common feature in that they have made massive contributions to their own businesses and organisations throughout this last year and importantly, have contributed significantly to the local economy in which they are based, and of course the wider Welsh economy.

“Many congratulations to all finalists today.” 

Winners - IoD Wales Director of the Year Awards

Inclusivity Award  – sponsored by Legal & General

Jules John, Delsion

Director in a Family Business – sponsored by RMS

Catherine Butler, Hugh Phillips Gower Butcher

Corporate Social Responsibility - sponsored by Welsh Government

Lynsey Hollins-Matthews, Jehu Group

Innovation  - Sponsored by ACCA Cymru Wales

Steve Jones, Comparison Creator

New/Emerging - sponsored by Darwin Gray

Daniel O'Toole, RMS / Retail Merchandising Services

Non-Executive - sponsored by Development Bank Wales

Philip Roberts, Catalyst Growth Partners and Biotec

Public / Third Sector - sponsored by Academi Wales

Simon Pirotte, Bridgend College


Liam Giles, Spindogs 


Adrian Sutton, Vortex IoT 

Director's Award

Dan Langford, Acorn / Wales Week in London

Judges’ Special Award

Michael Garvey, BBC National Orchestra of Wales 

Chairman’s Award     

Ed Reeves & Rachel Clacher, Moneypenny 

Contact IoD Wales

For more information, please contact

029 2038 9990

Branch and staff contacts can be found on the main Contacts tab

IoD Wales
Institute of Directors
Aberconway Building
Colum Drive
CF10 3EU

Follow us

IoD Wales

An error has occurred. Error: RelatedContent is currently unavailable.