Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login

Director of the year awards


The Institute of Directors Awards are open for entries. One of the few cross-sector Awards programmes, it celebrates leadership talent, success and achievement. The combination of the pandemic and preparations for Brexit meant that 2020 produced exceptionally tough operating conditions, forcing directors to reassess business models and respond at speed with bold, innovative decisions. These monumental efforts deserve recognition. Whatever your sector or organisation – whether you are a director in an established company, innovative start-up, family business, SME, or Third Sector – we want to hear from you.

A celebration of success and leadership talent, the awards gives the business community a chance to acknowledge the excellence and professionalism we have here in Wales.

Our annual Wales Director of the Year Awards are back for 2021 to highlight business excellence and significant contributions leaders can make to the social and economic prosperity in the community.

Applications are now closed.

Our Awards lunch will be held on the 14th January 2022. To find out more and to book a table please click the button below.

                                                              Awards Lunch Info

                                            Nominate  Apply  Categories

2021 Shortlist

1. Young Director of the Year – sponsored by Sony Technology Centre
Shayoni Lynn – Lynn PR
John Hannah - Project Delivery Success Ltd
Helen King – Praesidio Safeguarding
Phoebe Brown – Repair Café Wales
Katy Penny - Biocatalysts Ltd

2. Director of the Year – Non Exec – sponsored by Acorn Executive Search
Dr Chris Martin – Port of Milford Haven
Kevin Bounds - Snowdrop Independent Living Ltd
Rhian Watcyn Jones – Social Care Wales
Paul Croke – Bridgend College
Jessica Leigh Jones MBE - Centre for Digital Public Services

3. Director of the Year - Family – sponsored by Tantrwm
Ann Anglesea – Delmar World 
David Gray - TB Davies (Cardiff) Ltd
Rhys Mallows – Mallows Bottling Ltd
4. Director of the Year – Skills Development – sponsored by Educ8
Charlotte Hale – Sevenoaks Modular Ltd
Lindsay Evans – Sgiliau Cyf 
Rachel Searle – Gower College Swansea
5. Director of the Year – Start-Up Business – sponsored by Darwin Gray
Emma Hill - The British Bird of Prey Centre
Philippe Mele – My Procurement
Jay Sheppard – Kudos Fundraising

6. Director of the Year – Equality, Diversion & Inclusion – sponsored by Legal & General
Ruth Coombs - Equality & Human Rights Commission
Wasem Said – Tigerbay Security
Bushra Ali – Bushra Ali Solicitors

7. Director of the Year – Public/Third Sector – sponsored by Venture Graduates
Richard Williams – Community Foundation Wales
Helen Hughes - Stephens & George Centenary Charitable Trust
Russell Greenslade – Swansea BID
Kay Denyer – Race Council Cymru
Maria Timon Samra - Tŷ Hafan
Dr Rhodri Llwyd Morgan – Mudiad Meithrin

8. Director of the Year – Corporate Responsibility – sponsored by Welsh Government
Scott Davies – Hilltop Honey
Joanna Swash – Moneypenny
David Morgan - Snowdrop Independent Living Ltd
Bushra Ali – Bushra Ali Solicitors
Leigh Hughes - Bouygues UK

9. Director of the Year - Innovation - sponsored by ACCA Wales
Rhian Hayward MBE - Aberinnovation Ltd
Gareth Lewis – Delio
Shayoni Lynn – Lynn PR
Robert Kissick – 2buy2
Martin Baker - The Safeguarding Co Ltd

10. Director of the Year – SME up to £15m – sponsored by Development Bank of Wales
Dean Thomas - Caerphilly Funeral Services Ltd
Craig Palfrey - Penguin Wealth Planners Ltd
Julie Grabham - JG HR Solutions Ltd
Kristian Cuffin - Cuffed-in Coffee Ltd
Bushra Ali – Bushra Ali Solicitors
Nigel Greenway – GS Verde Group

Thank you to our sponsors - TWITTER