Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login

Director of the Year Awards


The London & South 2020 Winners

We are delighted to announce the winners of the virtual IoD London & South Director of the Year awards held on 11th September at 12:30

Director of the Year - Equality, Diversity & Inclusion
Clare Martin: Jardine Motors Group

Director of the Year - Third / Public Sector, kindly sponsored by Unity Trust Bank plc
Claire Hook: Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Director of the Year - Non-Exec
Megan McCracken: Folk2Folk

Director of the Year - International
Daniel Brooks: VHR

Director of the Year - Social Value and Sustainability Impact, kindly sponsored by The Planet Mark
Yvonne Obuaya: Curado Ltd

Director of the Year - Family
Oliver Butts: Christina May

Director of the Year - Innovation
Tim Brownstone: KYMIRA

Director of the Year - Start-Up
James Bush: NHCC (New Homes Customer Care)

Director of the Year - SME up to £5 million, kindly sponsored by Blend Marketing
Steve Hodges: Astro Technology Group Limited

Director of the Year - SME, £5 to £50 million, kindly sponsored by Schroders Personal Wealth  
Dr Nasser Siabi OBE, Microlink PC (UK) Ltd

New Chartered Director
Anne-Marie Mountifield CDir, Solent Local Enterprise Partnership

Chair Award
Megan McCracken, Folk2Folk

A special thanks goes to our panel of judges.  For a full list of all of our 2020 finalists please please visit our dedicated Director of the Year Awards website.

We are pleased to announce that Dame Esther Rantzen DBE will be joining us as guest of honour at our Awards dinner on Friday 11th September 2020.  We will also be supporting ChildLine during the evening, further details to follow.

Dame Esther Rantzen DBE

Dame Esther received an OBE for services to broadcasting, a CBE for services to children, and in the New Year Honours of 2015, a DBE for services to children and older people through ChildLine and The Silver Line. 

A graduate from Oxford, Esther Rantzen’s career in broadcasting began with BBC Radio as a sound effects assistant.  From there she moved into television as a researcher/reporter for Braden’s Week and then in 1973 as producer/presenter of That’s Life, which ran for 21 years on BBC Television.  Esther has made a number of pioneering programmes on subjects such as British women’s experience of childbirth, stillbirth, mental health and child abuse.  In 1986 she invented the concept of ChildLine and chaired the charity for 20 years.  After the merger of ChildLine with the NSPCC in February 2006, Esther became President of ChildLine and a trustee of the NSPCC.  In 2012 she invented The Silver Line, a helpline for older people and having chaired it in its first year, she is now its President and a Trustee.

She contributes regularly to the Daily Mail and other publications, and lectures on children’s issues, broadcasting and is the only Trustee so far to have appeared on Strictly Come Dancing, been in ITV’s Australian jungle and appeared on Question Time while standing as an independent candidate for Luton South. For her work in broadcasting and for children she has been awarded  7 honorary doctorates, and is a Patron of 19 charities. In 2011 she published “Running Out of Tears” to celebrate ChildLine’s 25th Anniversary. 


A child contacts Childline every 25 seconds.

They talk to us about things like bullying, self-harm and depression. Problems that children often feel they can’t talk to anyone else about.

With your generosity and support Childline can be here to help those young people find their voice.

We’re here for children who feel they have no one else to talk to and nowhere else to turn. Every day of the year, 24 hours a day, our counsellors are there to listen, whatever their worry, online and on the phone.

The good news is that many children did find the courage to speak to us last year and get the help they need so they can get their life back on track.

But this number puts a great strain on our services. The simple truth is, we can only respond to 3 out of 4 children who need our help. It’s only with the support of people like you that Childline can continue to be there for the children who desperately need us so that they can look to the next day with hope.  You can donate here.

Sponsorship opportunities

Are you looking for brand exposure among the pinnacle of leadership and business excellence community? By partnering our awards you will benefit from brand awareness and have the opportunity to forge new relationships all whilst being provided with an exceptional hospitality occasion

Read more about sponsorship opportunities

Thank you to our 2020 sponsors:

2020 Judges

We are pleased to announce the judges for the 2020 Awards are:

  • Alicia Andrews: Southeastern Railway
  • Nis Arend: Top 1%
  • Alison Bourne: The Dash Charity
  • Ian Calder CDir: Centrix Ltd
  • Keith Cornell CDir: BySide/Active Solutions
  • Peter Digby: Xtrac Ltd
  • Chris Dodson OBE DL: Torftech Group
  • Murray Eldridge CDir:  Actinium CS Ltd
  • William English CDir: OSTC Group Board 
  • Claire Horton CBE: Battersea Dogs & Cats Home
  • Janthana Kaenprakhamroy: Tapoly "Insurance on Tap"
  • Gemma Lacey: Southern Co-op
  • Barry Lewis: Cadline Ltd
  • Steve Malkin: Planet First 
  • Tara Mei: Bread & Jam
  • Sue Nelson: EY
  • John Palmer CDir:  Exec Express Ltd
  • Jitesh Patel: Peldon Rose
  • Luke Quilter: Sleeping Giant Media
  • Ross Wilson: Wilson Partners