Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login

Director of the year awards

IoD East Midlands Director of the Year Awards

Winners announced for IoD East Midlands Director of the Year Awards 2019

Winners announced for IoD East Midlands 2019 awards.

Held at Winstanley House in Leicester, this year forty-six of the region’s successful, established and emerging directors as well as business leaders were finalists for the IoD East Midlands Director of the Year 2019 awards. Hosted by Anne Davies BBC East Midlands Presenter, and with over 150 guests in attendance, winners of 12 categories were announced and will go forward to the IoD’s finals in London.

“In a fast-paced and challenging business world it is great to see the effectiveness and entrepreneurial qualities of directors in the East Midlands. We have so many great businesses being run by excellent directors.” – Ron Lunch, IoD East Midlands Regional Director

This year our Chairs Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice has been awarded to Mark Samworth of Samworth Brothers. “Mark has played an integral part in ensuring that the Samworth Brothers business lives it’s values of quality, commitment to people and communities and excellence in customer service. Mark is a worthy winner of this prestigious award which recognises excellence and professionalism in the role of director.” – Garry Smith, Regional Chairman

East Midlands Awards


Highly Commended - SME Small Business Category: Katrina Starkie of Purpose Media and Russell Copley of Greenborough 


Young Director Award: Sam Kirk of J-Flex and Jake Third of Hallam Internet

Director of the Year SME Business Small: Richard Weaver of XenoGesis

Highly Commended - SME Business Medium: Tracey-Jane Duncan-Moir of A1 Flue Systems 

Highly Commended - SME Business Small: Gareth Davies of Essential Site Skills 

Highly Commended - Public Sector: David Eade of Nottingham Trent University and Claire Marie Cuthbert of The Evolve Trust 

Highly Commended – Start Up: Sanjiv Corepal of Unlimited Wellbeing

Highly Commended – Young Director: Marie Pritchett of Skillforce Development 



Director of the Year - Corporate Social Responsibility: Ashley Cooper of Edward Cooper Young Chartered Surveyors 

Director of the Year - Family Business: Adam Burrage of Trident 

Director of the Year - Inclusivity: Mark Esho of Easy Internet Services 

Director of the Year - Non-Executive Director: Gareth Thomas of Peritus Learning and Development Ltd 

Director of the Year - SME Medium Business: Stephen Smith of EMB Group

Highly Commended – Innovation: John Fennell of Rotherwood Group 

Highly Commended – Non-Executive Director: Chris Everard of Alex’s Wish 

Highly Commended – Start Up: Julie Colan of Secret Whispers 



Director of the Year - Innovation: Bruce Spencer-Knott of Minster Surfacing 

Director of the Year – Public Sector: Bill Skelly, Chief Constable of Lincolnshire Police 

Director of the Year – Third Sector: Caroline Killeavy of the Lincolnshire YMCA 

Director of the Year – Start Up: Naomi Watkins, NW Counselling HUB CIC

Large Business Award: Sean Ramsden of Ramsden International

Highly Commended – International: Gary Headland of Lincoln College



Director of the Year – International: Guy Schanschieff MBE of Bambino Mio

Highly Commended – SME Business: David Cooper of FFP Packaging Solutions

Award categories for 2019 and sponsors

  • Corporate Social Responsibility – Sponsored by MAG East Midlands Airports Group
  • Director of the Year Family Business – Sponsored by Nelsons Solicitors
  • Director of the Year Inclusivity – sponsored by Kudos Technology
  • Innovation Director – sponsored by Morningside Pharmaceuticals
  • International Director – sponsored by Department for International Trade
  • Non-Executive Director – sponsored by jch:wealth management
  • Public Sector Director – sponsored by Chamber Media Services
  • Third Sector Director – sponsored by Midlands Business Link magazine
  • Start Up Director – sponsored by Winstanley House
  • Young Director – sponsored by Orange Ball and Julian Webb – Change2Achieve Ltd
  • SME Director – sponsored by Belvoir HR
  • Director of the Year LargeBusiness – sponsored by Quiet Storm Solutions