Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login


North West Isle of Man

Finalists Announced for the 2020 IoD North West & Isle of Man Director of the Year Awards

12 Mar 2020

We are delighted to announce the impressive, diverse shortlist of regional directors who are leading the way for businesses in the North West. 

The annual North West & IoM Director of the Year Awards – now in its 16th year -  is set to take place in Manchester on 14 May and will once again celebrate the most dynamic, entrepreneurial and inspiring individuals who help to make the North West and Isle of Man a great place to live and work.

Amongst the shortlisted individuals, entering from sectors including tech, banking, healthcare, hospitality and construction are Manchester-based Northcoders’ Sam Caine as well as Yvonne Edouke Riley from SAWA BBQ in the Director of the Year – Young category. Whilst Windermere Lake Cruises’ Jennifer Cormack and James McMillan from Stockport Credit Union are shortlisted in the Director of the Year – Non-Executive category. A further 70 entrants, including Reason Digital’s Matt Haworth, Sandy Lindsay MBE and Tunafish Media’s Sam Jones will be competing across the other 10 categories for prestigious titles including Director of the Year – Corporate Social Responsibility.

In partnership with Kuits Solicitors, the esteemed awards profile the outstanding individuals who are leading the way not only here in the region, but also nationally and on the international stage. Claire Ebrey Regional Director for the North West explained: “These awards are a true celebration of leadership talent, success and achievement and we have been astounded at the quality of entrants this year, with such a great cross-section of our amazing business community receiving a nomination.

“The IoD in the North West is proud to shout about the incredible range of talent that we are fortunate to benefit from here. These awards are a real testimony to the hard work and commitment that our business leaders have invested in growing the regional economy. We look forward to welcoming all our shortlisted nominees to the awards ceremony in May and wish them all the very best of luck.”

Recent years’ winners have represented a diverse range of businesses including Booths, N Brown Group, Rowlinson Knitwear, Graham & Brown, Ainscough Crane Hire, Seamark, Accrol Papers, Chester Zoo, Timpson and Alder Hey Children’s Hospital.

The final is set to take place at The Hilton Deansgate Manchester on Thursday 14 May 2020, with all category winners then proceeding to compete at the national London finals in October. 

To book, please visit our event page here.

The full 2020 shortlist...

Director of the Year - Innovation
Dr Marilyn Comrie OBE- The Blair Project
Phil Lynch- Manchester United
Anthea Morris - Better2Know
Ono Okeregha - Immigration Advice Service
Carolyn Willitts - CW Studio Ltd
Andrew Wood - Andrew Wood Photography

Director of the Year - Non-Executive sponsored by RSM
Jennifer Cormack - Windermere Lake Cruises
Sandy Lindsay MBE
Michael McGrath -
James McMillan - Stockport Credit Union
Dianne Walker - BAKO NW GROUP

Director of the Year - Young
Sam Caine - Northcoders
Lee Cunliffe - Sporting House
Ian Drake - Rex Leasing Limited
Yvonne Edouke Riley - SAWA BBQ
Chloe Moore - National Care Group
Kate Roberts - Neuven Solutions
Mohamed Yasser Elhawary - BeUniqueness

Director of the Year - Public Sector
Mike Haslin - The University Caterers Organisation
Ian Hopkins, QPM - Greater Manchester Police 

Director of the Year - Third Sector
Anne Boyd, FRSA - Active Cheshire
Paul Breen - GC Business Finance
Amy Couture - Stick 'n' Step
Gail Heath - The Pankhurt Trust (Incorporating Manchester Women's Aid)
Maggie O'Carroll - The Women's Organisation
John Shiels - Manchester United Foundation
Francess Tagoe - Tree of Life Centre

Director of the Year - Family Business sponsored by Crowe
Dave Chunilal - Nisyst
Andrew Fraser - Forest Group
James Harper - Walton Flooring Centre
James Killerby - Hibiscus
Helen Tonks - Hydraulics Online Ltd

Director of the Year - International
Paul Baker - St Pierre Groupe
Anthony Diver, FRSA - MOSQUITO
Ryan Jones - Recoup Financial Solutions
Richard Wilde - Milexa Group

Director of the Year - Small - Medium Business (up to £50m) sponsored by Salford Business School
John Coughlan - TSP Engineering
Paul Corcoran - Agent Marketing
Ken Deary - Right at Home UK
Anthony Diver, FRSA - MOSQUITO
Phil Eckersley - Bridgewater Home Care
Brigit Egan - Oakridge
Bonnie Hodson - UAP
Stuart Alexander Law - Assetz Capital
Stephen Law-Lyons - APC Cardiovascular
Ono Okeregha - Immigration Advice Service
Bernard Ross - Sky Medical Technology
Daniel Simpson - MID Communications
Krzysztof Zemlik - Ascroft Medical

Director of the Year - Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
Phil Eckersley - Bridgewater Home Care
Sandra Green - The WLA
Natasha Hanson - Direct Rail Services
Susanna Lawson - Onefile Ltd
Leila Mckenzie - Leila Mckenzie Associates & DIAL Global
Ono Okeregha - Immigration Advice Service
Ray Stenton - NorthEdge Capital
Carol Ann Whitehead, FRSA GGA - Zebra Partnership

Director of the Year - Social Value and Sustainability Impact

Ivan Baldwin - Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster
Matt Haworth - Reason Digital
Sam Jones - Tunafish Media
Dijonn Taylor - Savvy Guest
Andrew Wood - Andrew Wood Photography
Krzysztof Zemlik - Ascroft Medical

Director of the Year - Start-Up sponsored by ACCA
Maxim Cohen - The UK Adviser
Owen Cotterell - Juice Immersive Ltd
Mercè Cozens - Think Beyond
Yvonne Edouke Riley - Sawa BBQ
Nomi Farooq - Shoot Business
Nina Sawetz - Future PR
Anthony O'Brien - Profici Ltd
Chukwudi Onwudiwe - Chuck Gallery

Director of the Year - Large Business
Andrew Preston - Geometric Results International Ltd
Phillip McEvoy - Univar Solutions
Kate Roberts - Neuven Solutions Ltd

Headline Partner




For more information, please contact

0161 521 8133

North West
An error has occurred. Error: Related News is currently unavailable.