Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login



Director of the Year Awards – 2018 finalists announced

17 Jul 2018

Representing the length and breadth of the UK, the shortlist for the Director of the Year Awards is here, with a record number of entries for the 2018 event.

The Awards take place on 18 October at the Royal Horticultural Halls and bring together the very best in good governance and leadership for an evening of networking and celebration of the achievements of the individuals that contribute to UK business.

“The quality of entries has been extremely high this year”, commented IoD Head of Events Amie Willenberg.  “Our panel of expert judges now have some tough decisions ahead of them and I can’t wait to see which of the shortlisted entries win on the night.”

Our Student Director of the Year and this year’s outstanding Chartered Director, in partnership with St. James’s Place, based on exam performance, will also receive an award  on the night.

Director of the Year – Corporate Social Responsibility, in partnership with IOSH

Martin Armstrong, CEO, Wheatley Group

Dr Shaun Davis,global director of safety, health, wellbeing and sustainability, Royal Mail Group

Angus Drummond, CEO, Limitless Travel

Doug Field, joint chief executive, East of England Co-op

Lynsey Holley-Matthews, marketing and responsible business manager, Jehu Group

Ray Hutchinson, MD, Gilbert-Ash

Martin Port, founder and CEO, BigChange

Jamie Racjan, sales and procurement director, Fungi Delecti

Dr Julian Skyrme, director of social responsibility, University of Manchester

Jillian Thomas, MD, Future Life Wealth Management

Rob Vivian, CEO, PureComms

Helen Wathall, MD, G Wathall & Sons

Director of the Year – Family Business

Naveen Ahmed, MD, Parklane Group

Amalia Brightley- Gillott, MD, Family Business Place

Catherine Butler, MD, Hugh Phillips Gower Butcher

Henry Deakin, MD, Deakin & Francis

Karl Hodgkinson, group commercial director, Howard Tenens

Janna Horsthuis, MD, Robinson’s

Rebecca Marks, co-founder and director, Scarlett Entertainment

Ashley McCulla, MD, McCulla Ireland

Alison Reuben, director, Bluebell Fitted Furniture

Tarnia Robertson, MD, Ufford Park Woodbridge

Hotel, Golf & Spa

Director of the Year – Global

Andrew Brammer, MD, PSS

Danny Brooks, MD, VHR

Gary Headland, CEO, Lincoln College Group

Paula Kennedy, vice-president, EMEA markets and global digital sales, Convergys

David Langworth CDir, co-founder and chairman, NM Group

Barry Leahey MBE, MD, Playdale Playgrounds

Kutty Prabakaran, CEO, Enzen Group

Director of the Year – Inclusivity, in partnership with Jaguar

Sally Austin, group HR director, Costain

Erica Ingham, CFO, MediaCom North

Julian John, MD, Delsion

Shahid Sheikh OBE, MD, Clifton Packaging

Gary Thompson, chief fire and rescue officer, Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service

Carmen Watson, chair, Pertemps

Tracy Wray, director of HR and communications, University of Sheffield

Director of the Year – Innovation

Professor Adam Beaumont, CEO, aql

Steve Jones, founder and CEO, Comparison Creator

Adam Kiani, founder and CEO, PT Academy

Denis Lynn, chairman, Lynn’s Country Foods – Finnebrogue Artisan

Toby McCartney, CEO, MacRebur

Laura Morrison, MD, Your Telemarketing

Dr Anil Ohri, founder and CEO, Regent’s Park Healthcare

Simon Rice, MD, HSG UK

Stephen Robertson, founder and director, Metis Partners

Shahid Sheikh OBE, MD, Clifton Packaging

Allan Watts, co-founder and operations director, Sleep Well Milk

Director of the Year – New

Amy Golding, CEO, Opus Talent Solutions

Nicholas Oates, director, Fabricom Offshore Services

Paddy O’Hagan, COO, Neueda

Daniel O’Toole, CEO, Retail Merchandising Services

Josh Stamp, strategic director, Esland Group

Sarah West, MD, Full Mix Marketing

Donna Whitehead, pro-vice-chancellor and executive dean of the faculty of business and law, UWE Bristol

Kelvin Wood, compliance services director, Shield Safety Group

Director of the Year – Non-Executive

Clive Bawden, director, Look After Business

Jeremy Brettell CDir, non-executive director, Airdrie Savings Bank, Anderson Strathern Asset Management, Guarantee Protection Insurance, Transact and Wesleyan Bank

Pete Frost, trustee, Norton Housing Support

Debbie Gardiner MBE, non-executive director, Association of Employment and Learning Providers

Christine Gaskell, chair, Cheshire and Warrington Local Enterprise Partnership

Jo Haigh, CEO, FDS Director Services

Carmel McKinney OBE, chairperson, Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service

Philip Roberts, non-executive director, Combesgate, Forward Waste Management, MCI Logistics, TrakCel and Viscose Holdings

Director of the Year – Public/Third Sector

Benjamin Ackim, MD, Sports City London

Bill Atkinson, chief executive, Ulster Supported Employment and Learning

Marshall Dallas, chief executive, Edinburgh International Conference Centre

Jane Gurney, CEO, Essex & Herts Air Ambulance

Tom Halpin CDir, chief executive, Sacro

Gary Headland, chief executive, Lincoln College Group

Richard Jeffery, Director, GC Business Growth Hub

Alison Jordan, CEO, Pete’s Dragons

James McLaughlin, CEO, Cure Leukaemia

Simon Pirotte, CEO and principal, Bridgend College

Emelita Robbins, chief executive, Jersey Hospice Care

Andrew Sugden, director of corporate development, States of Jersey Police

Simon Wallis, director, The Hepworth Wakefield

Director of the Year – SME

Aaron Dicks, MD, Impression Digital

Simon Erlanger, MD, Isle of Harris Distillery

Liam Giles, MD, Spindogs

Dawn Hands, MD, BMG Research

Michelle Pollard, MD, Spider Fixed Fee Web Recruitment

Luke Quilter, CEO, Sleeping Giant Med

Sunny Sharma, director, Pet Brands

Celine Sinclair, chief executive, The Yard

Director of the Year – Start-Up

Ben Barker, MD and brewer, Artemis Brew

Oliver Bruce, director, PinPointMedia

Joy Foster, founder and MD, TechPixies Richard Gill, founder and CEO, Drone Defence

Toby McCartney, CEO, MacRebur

Stephen McDowell, director, Hayward Hawk

Andrew Morrison, MD, AM Bid Services

Phil Neale, founder and CEO, Snoozle

Johnathon Pereira, MD, Seapower Marine

Will Stewart, MD, The Point.1888

Adrian Sutton, MD, Vortex IoT

Dr Neville Bain Memorial Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice

Brian Conlon, CEO, First Derivatives

Dr Lesley Dickie, CEO, Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust

Richard Harpin, founder and CEO, HomeServe

David Hosking, deputy chairman, Tuskerdirect

Gary Lamb, CEO, Manx Telecom

Mark Lumsdon-Taylor, deputy group principal and CEO, Hadlow Group

Sir Timothy O’Shea, emeritus professor and former vice-chancellor and principal, University of Edinburgh

Dr Andy Palmer, president and CEO, Aston Martin Lagonda

Geoff Thompson, founder and executive chair, the Youth Charter

The awards ceremony will take place on the 18 October 2018, you can book your table now online.

Partners of the awards are: IOSH, Jaguar and St. James’s Place

An error has occurred. Error: Related articles is currently unavailable.

Contact our press office

Press office

IoD Professional Development Brochure

Knowledge, skills and mindset for a challenging world

IoD courses are designed to tackle the core competencies needed to thrive at board-level.

Download course brochure