Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login
West Midlands

Director of the Year Winners Revealed at Champagne Breakfast

Jordan Lowe 12 Jun 2019

IoD Director of the Year Winners

Director of the Year Winners Revealed

Dr Julian Turner was named the IoD West Midlands Director of the Year 2019 at the annual Champagne Breakfast at Edgbaston Cricket ground on Tuesday 11th June. 

Westfield Technology Group has been making uncompromising sports cars since 1982 but its modern development truly accelerated when Julian became CEO in 2006; embarking on the road towards electrification and autonomous technology. Consequently, this led to the company manufacturing autonomous pods for Heathrow Airport and the Lake District National Park. 

Keeping one eye on Brexit, Julian has focused on developing new markets outside of Europe and has won business in Dubai, South Korea and Australia. With a focus on controlled environments, such as airports and business parks, Julian works closely with the likes of Emirates Group to demonstrate how Westfield’s vehicles can offer a complete service for airside operations – from passenger transport and moving cargo to autonomous road sweepers.

Judges for the Institute of Directors (IoD) commented: “Whilst maintaining the core business through uncertain times, Julian has taken some bold innovative steps and broken new ground using existing strengths of the business to diversify into completely new sectors and markets.”
Throughout his career, he has embraced innovation and has frequently taken risks but, perhaps most significantly, Julian has approached a challenging environment and seen an opportunity to restructure and diversify. 

“A genuine disruptor, Julian has taken a traditional manufacturing business and shown real entrepreneurship by transforming a kit car producer into the UK’s leading POD manufacturer, directly targeting clients from across the globe.”

Julian was also the winner of the International category. The judges were highly impressed by Julian’s incredible clarity and drive to reach sustainable growth. Steering his company through a huge change programme, Julian has implemented and led a strategy which has helped drive growth globally and positioned Westfield Technology Group as a market leader in their field. 

Other award winners included: 

Dr Eman Al Hillawi, Entec Si - Small-Medium Business Director of the Year

Matt Jones, Oxbridge - Start-Up Director of the Year

Peter Bruch, AE Aerospace - Innovation Director of the Year   

Michael Willetts, ASAP Express  Family Business Director of the Year

Dr Andrew Milner, BHSF, Sun Organics and Help for Health - Non-Executive Director of the Year 

Dara McCarthy, RMF Construction Services - Corporate Social Responsibility Director of the Year 

Mark Abrams, Auriga Services - Third Sector Director of the Year 

Stewart Towe, Hadley Group - Large Business Director of the Year 

Adrian Shooter, Vivarail - Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice, selected by IoD West Midlands Chair, Brian Hall.

Julian and the category winners will now go on to represent the West Midlands in the IoD National Director of the Year Awards in October. 

Congratulations to Julian and all of this year’s remarkable winners!

For more information, please contact

West Midlands

An error has occurred. Error: Related News is currently unavailable.