Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login

IoD Awards Shortlist Illustrates Business Excellence in Wales

03 May 2017

Many of Wales’ most influential and motivational business leaders have been shortlisted for honours in the IoD Wales Director of the Year Awards 2017.

Over 35 directors have been shortlisted across the award’s ten categories, which include three new categories this year –  Finance Director of the Year, Director in Human Resources and Director in a Start-Up Business.

Finalists represent a range of businesses from all parts of the country and will now attend the awards final ceremony on Friday, May 19, to celebrate their achievements.

The awards, now in their seventh year, have become an established highlight on the Welsh business calendar and celebrate business achievements and inspirational leaders across Wales while bringing all sectors of the business community together, irrespective of size, geography and longevity.

Winners from the Welsh regional awards - which are once again sponsored by Cardiff Business School - are forwarded for the IoD National awards which culminate in an Awards Lunch in London in the autumn. 

Last year, Welsh winners Elin Wyn, business lecturer and Chair of Chapter; Peter Thomas, MD of Contract Services Group; Jeff Farrar, Chief Constable of Gwent Police and David Gray, Managing Director of TB Davies ladders specialists, represented Wales at the UK finals.

Robert Lloyd Griffiths, Director of Institute of Directors in Wales said: “The profile of these awards continues to exceed expectations as they attract entries from the very best in Wales.  

“There are thousands of businesses across Wales with good stories to tell and which are making a positive impact in their communities and to the wider Wales economy and this year’s shortlist certainly reflects this. Well done to all finalists and thank you to all who entered – competition was more rigorous than ever again this year. The number and quality of entries excel year on year and we are very much looking forward to the event and look forward to seeing you there.

“My thanks go to our principal sponsor - Cardiff Business School and to all our category sponsors.”

Professor Martin Kitchener, Dean of Cardiff Business School said: “As a School, we are proud to participate in this annual celebration of excellence.

“Each year, I am inspired by the innovation, creativity and ambition of the nominees and eagerly await the awards lunch to recognise the achievements and successes of Welsh businesses.

“Since becoming Dean of Cardiff Business School in October 2012, I have worked to enable and extend our contribution to the local economy, to our students, to the creation and development of knowledge, and to society as a whole.

“Our economic contribution is well documented, with recent analysis showing that we contribute over £200million to the local economy. Our teaching excellence has been recognised with a top 100 placement in the 2016-2017 Times Higher Education (THE) World University rankings, and our research output ranked 6th (out of 101 business schools) in the UK.

“We educate almost 3,000 students annually and produce work-ready, diligent and creative graduates who think differently and strive to provoke positive change to business practice and society. This is in line with our distinctive and progressive Public Value strategy, which focuses on promoting economic and social improvement through our teaching, research and governance.” 

ITV Wales is media partner for the prestigious event and Effective Communication is PR partner.

Huw Rossiter, Public Affairs Manager at ITV Cymru Wales said:  "ITV Cymru Wales is delighted to once again be media partner to the IoD Director of the Year Awards. Business coverage is an important part of our news mix and we look forward to another successful event celebrating the very best in Welsh business."

There is no shortlist for the Talent & Innovation Award, which is sponsored by ACCA Cymru Wales and awarded at the discretion of the judging panel and sponsor, who announce a winner at the ceremony. 

The annual Director’s Award and Chairman’s Award will also be announced on the day.

Winners of all the categories will be announced at the Awards Lunch on Friday 19th May at The SSE SWALEC in Cardiff.  A booking form for the lunch is available on the IoD website or you can email

IoD Wales Director of the Year Finalists 2017:


Director of the Year  - Corporate Responsibility – Sponsored by Welsh Government

Patrick Nash - Connect Assist                             

Stephen Jones - SANS Institute

Marcia Sinfield - Tai Calon Housing

Director in a Family Business - Sponsored by Retail Merchandising Services Ltd

Julian Cruttenden - Welsh Hills Bakery Ltd 

Bradley Cummings - Tiny Rebel Brewery           

Chris Macnamara - The Brogue Trader

Miriam Warner - Miracle Workers Agency

Finance Director of the Year - Sponsored by SOH

Steven Ades - Aerfin Ltd

Andrew Gibbs - Bridgend College

Mark Burn - Henry Howard Finance PLC

Director of the Year - Human Resources – Sponsored by Acorn Executive Search

Maxine Wiseman - Trivallis

Corinna Lloyd-Jones - Menter a Busnes

Gaynor Morris-Davies - Pobl Group

Donna Howells - United Welsh

Director of the Year - Medium/Large Business - Sponsored by Dribuild

Tony Barry - Brakel Airvent

Scott Liddle - Acorn Recruitment 

Peter Thomas - Contract Services Group


Director of the Year - Public Sector - Sponsored by Academi Wales 

Debra Barber - Cardiff Airport

Gareth Chapman - Merthyr Tydfil County Borough

Mark Jones - Gower College


Director of the Year - Small Business - Sponsored by Darwin Gray

James Smith - DevOpsGuys

Liam Giles - Spindogs

Steve Jones - Comparison Creator

Craig Palfrey - Penguin Wealth LLP

Gareth Williams - Tiny Rebel


Director of the Year - Social Enterprise - Sponsored by Legal & General

Matthew Cole - Gofal Enterprises Limited

Liz Andrews - Cancer Research Wales

Caroline Phipps - Drugaid Cymru


Director of the Year - Start-Up - Sponsored by Airvent

Anita Davies - Knotweed Support

Danni Watts-Jones - DWJ Wealth Management Ltd

Glyn Jenkins - Bastleford Engineering and Consultancy


Young Director of the Year - Sponsored by Tidal Lagoon

Rob Dance - RockIT Ltd

Emma Hill - Pembrokeshire Falconry Ltd

Anthony Bullick - Outwrite PR

Richard Howells - JCP Solicitors

Contact IoD Wales

For more information, please contact

029 2038 9990

Branch and staff contacts can be found on the main Contacts tab

IoD Wales
The Park House Club
20 Park Place
CF10 3DQ

Follow us

IoD Wales