Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login

Business leaders to celebrate 10 years of IoD Wales awards as entries open #IoDWales2020Awards

30 Jan 2020

Business leaders across Wales will be recognised for their talent and contribution at the Institute of Directors (IoD) Wales’ tenth annual awards ceremony to be held on Friday 22 May at the Sophia Gardens Cricket Stadium.

Sponsored by Cardiff Business School with ITV as media partner, the search is on to find outstanding directors and senior managers in Wales. Winners from the Wales awards will go forward to the IoD UK Awards which will be held in London in October 2020.

Entries can be completed online at 

Steve Dalton OBE, Managing Director of Sony UK Technology Centre was awarded the Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice in 2019. He had previously been named Director of the Year (South) in 2012.

Commenting on the awards, Steve Dalton OBE said: “There are lots of award ceremonies in the calendar but none have stood the test of time like the IoD Awards. As the must-do business event of the year, the annual Awards sees an incredible turn-out of talent from across Wales. It’s a very powerful learning environment with the very best Directors and Senior Managers in Wales coming together to share best practice and learn from each other, irrespective of size, sector or geography. It provides a great opportunity to grow your own knowledge base. 

“Having first won Director of the Year (South) in 2012, I have been fortunate to benefit from the profile and recognition that the awards bring. Being awarded the Chairman’s Award for Excellence in 2019 really was the icing on the cake; a great accolade that has given me tremendous respect in the industry and the confidence to do my job knowing that I am doing it in the right way,” 

Robert Lloyd Griffiths OBE, Director IoD Wales, said: “The profile of these awards really has grown from strength to strength as Directors across Wales continue to demonstrate tenacity, determination and talent. Although much has happened across the business landscape, those who have won our awards over the last ten years continue to motivate and inspire their teams with a commitment to best practice. Each of our winners over the last ten years demonstrates a great example of leadership. 

“You don’t have to be a member of the IoD to enter the Awards and neither do you need to be a Director. We welcome applications from senior managers and Directors of all businesses in Wales, irrespective of size or sector.“ 

Professor Rachel Ashworth, Dean of Cardiff Business School, said: “We’re proud to sponsor this annual celebration of excellence in Welsh business and leadership. After ten years, we continue to be inspired by the creativity, commitment and ambition of the nominees and look forward to the upcoming awards ceremony where their success will be recognised.

“Business organisations continue to operate under unpredictable social, political and economic circumstances. But despite these challenges, the nominees illustrate the significant contribution Welsh business makes, not just to the economy but also to communities, within Wales and the world. A mission that we share as the Public Value business School.” 

With 11 categories, Sony UK Technology Centre will sponsor the Young Director category; Darwin Gray the Start-Up Business; Legal & General the Equality, Diversity & Inclusion and Academi Wales Director in Public/Third Sector.

Welsh Government will sponsor the Corporate Responsibility Director of the Year; ACCA CymruWales the Director in Innovation; KeolisAmey Wales the Director making most Social Value and Sustainability Impact and Qatar Airways the International Director. The Development Bank of Wales will sponsor the Director of a Small-Medium Business and Tantrwm is the sponsor of Director in a large Business. 

Three additional awards – Chairman’s; Director’s and Judges’ Special Award aren’t open to entry or nomination and are announced at the awards ceremony on Friday 22 May.  

Inspirational business leaders and previous winners of the Chairman’s Award include Principality Building Society chief executive Peter Griffiths (2011); 2012 Director of the Year (South), Steve Dalton OBE, Sony UK Technology Centre and (North) Mark Woolfenden of Afonwen Laundry; Henry Engelhardt, CEO Admiral (2013); former BBC Wales director Menna Richards OBE (2014); Welsh Water chief executive Chris Jones (2015); Entrepreneur and founder Hayley Parsons (2016.)

In 2017, Celtic Manor owner Sir Terry Matthews was named IoD Chairperson Jean Church’s Director of the Year while IoD Wales Director Robert Lloyd Griffiths’ accolade was given to Debra Barber, Managing Director at Cardiff Airport.  

Ed Reeves and Rachel Clacher of Wrexham-based call answering service Moneypenny, were given the 2018 Chairman’s Award, while Acorn Group Marketing Director Dan Langford was acknowledged with the Director’s Award for establishing Wales Week in London and Michael Garvey from BBC National Orchestra of Wales was given the Judges’ Special Award.

The closing date for nominations is Friday 28th February and the deadline for submitting entries is Friday 27th March.

Contact IoD Wales

For more information, please contact

029 2038 9990

Branch and staff contacts can be found on the main Contacts tab

IoD Wales
Institute of Directors
Aberconway Building
Colum Drive
CF10 3EU

Follow us

IoD Wales

An error has occurred. Error: RelatedContent is currently unavailable.