Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login


Northern Ireland

Eleven NI directors shortlisted for UK Director of the Year Awards

06 Jul 2016

shortlist doya

The Institute of Directors has announced the shortlist of finalists for this year’s IoD Director of the Year Awards.

Eleven local directors will compete against the best of Britain in ten different categories as the Institute seeks to reward the individuals behind some of the UK’s best companies.

Category winners will also be in the running for the highly coveted Overall Director of the Year Award. The ceremony takes place on Friday 21st October, at the Lancaster London Hotel.

The local entries include Brendan Mooney, CEO of the IT services company Kainos Group, who has been shortlisted in the Mid-Market Director of the Year category.

Also on the shortlist, is Paul McElavney, CEO, of Learning Pool, a Londonderry-based online training company, who will be vying for the SME Company Director of the year Award.

Allen Reid, Finance Director of Magherafelt based Henry Group and Mark Fegan, Financial Director at Service provider Bunzl are both shortlisted in the New Chartered Director of the Year category.

This year’s local nominees in full are:

Mid-Market Director of the Year (annual turnover of over £10-£99.9m)
Brendan Mooney, CEO Kainos Group plc

SME Company Director of the Year (annual turnover of under £10m)
Paul McElvaney, CEO Learning Pool

Family Business Director of the Year
Brian McErlain, Managing Director, Genesis Crafty

Young Director of the Year (under the age of 42)
Brendan McGurgan, Managing Director, CDE Global Ltd

Public Sector Director of the Year
Alastair Hamilton CEO, Invest Northern Ireland

Not for Profit/Third Sector Director of the Year Award
Brian Murray, CEO, The Workspace Group

International Director of the Year
Gareth Loye, CEO, M&M Contractors

Leadership in Corporate Responsibility Director of the Year
Carla Tully, President, AES UK & Ireland

Non-executive Director of the Year
Colin Coffey CDir FloD, Non-executive Director, Flint Studios

New Chartered Director of the Year
Allen Reid CDir FloD, Finance Director, Henry Group
Mark Fegan CDir FloD, Financial Director, Bunzl

Commenting on the nominations, Ian Sheppard, IoD NI Chairman, said:

“It’s inspiring to see so many business leaders, who represent such a large range of local industries and sectors, make the final cut for the National Director of the Year awards.

“The IoD Director of the Year Awards is recognised as one of the most prestigious honours for business leaders so to have so many directors shortlisted is recognition of their leadership values.

“I wish each and every one of the shortlisted candidates every success in the IoD National Director of the Year Awards and am sure they will do Northern Ireland very proud.”

For more information, please contact the IoD NI Office on: 

028 9694 6209


An error has occurred. Error: RelatedContent is currently unavailable.