Skip to main content
Become a member
  • Register
  • Login

Register Login


North East

NE Businessmen honoured at IoD Director of the Year Awards

09 Jul 2018
IoD Director of the Year Awards

Nicholas Oates honoured at Director of the Year awards

Nicholas Oates of Fabricom Offshore Services has won the prestigious New Director of the Year award at the Institute of Directors’ Yorkshire and North East Director of the Year Awards 2018.

Oates, executive business unit director at Newcastle-based Fabricom, has more than 20 years’ industry experience, having held both technical and executive management roles.

Fabricom specialises in engineering, procurement, construction and project management services to the oil, gas, power, chemical and renewables industries.

Oates is responsible for the leadership, strategic direction and management of Fabricom’s multidiscipline teams in Newcastle and Aberdeen which provide engineering, procurement and construction services to offshore and onshore asset upgrades.

The Director of the Year Awards, held at the Principal York hotel, honour business leaders from the public, private and third sectors along with entrepreneurs of all ages and backgrounds.

Lady Ruby Sykes was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award. The former High Sherriff of South Yorkshire has devoted much of her time to working for public organisations and charities.

Richard Harpin, founder and chief executive of national home assistance company Homeserve, received the Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice. Harpin set up HomeServe in 1993. The business now has 8.4 million customers and a dedicated network of tradespeople.

Guest speaker at the awards was Stephen Martin, director general of the IoD. The evening was compered by BBC Look North presenter Danni Hewson.

The award winners now go forward to the national Director of the Year finals, where they will compete against winners from across the UK.
The full list of winners is:

Global Director of the Year: David Langworth, NM Group
SME company Director of the Year:Sunny Sharma, Pet Brands
Family company Director of the Year:Naveen Ahmed, The Parklane Group
Start-Up Director of the Year: Ben Barker, Artemis Brew
New Director of the Year: Nicholas Oates, Fabricom Offshore Services
Public / Third Sector Director of the Year: Simon Wallis, The Hepworth Wakefield
Non-Exec Director of the Year: Jo Haigh, FDS Director Services
Innovation Director of the Year:Professor Adam Beaumont, aql
Inclusivity Director of the Year: Tracy Wray, The University of Sheffield
Corporate Social Responsibility Director of the Year: Martin Port, BigChange
Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice: Richard Harpin, HomeServe plc
Judges Special Award: Geoff Shepherd, iSource Group and The Yorkshire Mafia
Lifetime Achievement: Lady Ruby Sykes

The judging panel was chaired by Simon Walton, managing partner at Berwick Partners/Odgers Berndtson, Leeds. The awards partners are Leeds Business School; Leeds Beckett University’s Enterprise Services; Dine; Principal York; Cicada Communications; Forward Ladies; Topic UK; West Park Hotel, Harrogate; York Science Park; Frontroom; Thirst; Saville AV; Slingsby Gin; and Lupton Fawcett.

For more information, please contact.

0191 213 1289

North East

Branch and staff contacts can be found on the main Contacts tab

IoD North East
Durham University Business School
Mill Hill Lane

An error has occurred. Error: RelatedContent is currently unavailable.